My friends may seem like normal teenagers when you see them walking around school, but if you could’ve seen what we did on the first snow day in 3 years, you would’ve thought differently.

When I heard that school was cancelled, of course, I like every other kid on the first snow day of the year, rushed to the window to see how much fluffy powder there really was. Today, there was none. It was a kind of disappointing. The snow was really like a big, hard, white blanket.

I took it as a great day to sleep in and maybe hang out with a friend later, but apparently my friends didn’t.

They saw it as a plan-a-football-game-at-9:30 kind of morning. They saw it as a lets-play-the-football-game-shirtless kind of day. They saw it as a great opportunity to trash the hosts house and eat all of his frozen pizzas. They took it like let’s-go-buy-30-dollars-of-snacks-from-a-gas-station kind of day, and find a random field and play games that we made up in fourth grade kind of day. They saw it as slam-dunk-contest-late-at-night kind of day.

Even though my idea was different than their’s, I accepted the request to come over because both of our ideas had something in common: we knew we had to have fun, and what fun we had.