Challenge Weeks 4 and 5: Media and a Memory

“Trains,” was the simple one word answer given to Santa Claus every time he asked what I wanted for Christmas.

They were really only little wooden blocks with magnets, but they could entertain any 3 year old for hours. I would lay down yards and yards of the mini railroads and then roll the trains upon them. Whenever I played with them, I pretended that I was the conductor telling everybody where to go. They were my most prized possession.

I spent hours in my room trying to plan out the course that the trains would take and eventually I kept the tracks on the floor year round. These simple wooden trains held the key to my childhood entertainment for a long time. They were perfect for me and I knew it.

Now that I am older, I wish that I had something to entertain me as much as those trains did while I was a young kid. I have my iPhone, but I always feel a little guilty sitting inside for an hour playing games. Today, Tomorrow and the next day, I will try to find something to entertain me, but no matter what it is, it won’t be as good as the trains were.

20140413-163959.jpg

« »