Challenge Week 2: Barton Springs

“I am very sorry ma’am but the pool is closed for maintenance.” It was a devastating blow. We had just invited five other kids to this place and now he was trying to tell us that it was closed! Well, my mom wouldn’t take it. Apparently sensing the frustration, one of my friends spilled a secret that changed the course of our summer… he led us to the lower half of Barton Creek.

Warm sun rays hit my chest, while the clear, cool Barton Springs water swirled around the large rock I was lying on, and chilled my whole body off. Now, the lower half of Barton Springs is a little different than the upper half. The upper half is basically a river that flows into a gigantic pool. This pool is usually packed with people. The lower half is the upper pool water flowing back into a river. It’s a quiet, peaceful place, with a lot less people to be loud, noisy and obnoxious.

With fewer people, there are many more places for you to relax, close your eyes, and let the serenity of Barton Springs delight you. The giant rocks sitting low in the water are perfect for reading a book, but still being cooled by the shallow water at the same time. As a foreign visitor, some might be overwhelmed by the extreme heat, but the water at Barton Springs is a constant 70 degrees, which may not sound cold now, but it will when you’re in the water.

The Barton Springs run-off has been a great meeting spot for my friends and I over the past couple years. It would be at the top of my list for places to go in in Austin, and would surely be a memory making spot for anyone who visits.

« »